This building in the neo-classical style has two façades – the principal one on Triq San Luċjan and the second one on Triq l-Ispirtu s-Santu. It was designed as the first school in Żejtun at the beginning of the 19th century. The people behind this project were the priest, Dun Alwiġ Camilleri (1774 – 1849), together with two other benefactors, Bishop Mattei and the Spanish Consul, Chevalier Megino.
The building itself comprises two high storeys. On the Triq San Luċjan side, it is slightly elevated to accomodate a cellar, which is found under this side of the edifice. The principal façade is nearly symmetrical, with a central door and an open balcony resting on one corbel, which rises above the same door.
In the corbel itself there is a bas relief engraving of an interesting view of the East of Malta – from Grand Harbour to the bay of Marsaxlokk. This is a unique map, as it is engraved in stone. It is the work of the Maltese sculptor Marjanu Girada.
On the second floor, besides the central balcony, there are two other balconies, one on each side. All three balconies have an iron railing, in the centre of which letters have been incorporated. In the first one, it is the letter “P”, in the centre one, the letter “Z” and in the last one, the letter “F”. P.Z.F. stands for Populus Zeitunensis Fecit, meaning “the people of Żejtun made this”, which is proof of the help tendered by the population of Żejtun towards the building of this edifice.
The two benefactors of the project, Bishop Mattei and the Spanish Consul, Chevalier Megino, are acknowledged by means of a bas relief engraved in stone, which shows the busts and the family coat-of-arms of these two important people. This bas relief is to be found in one of the front rooms of the building.